Friday Tunes: New Millennium Girl Power

By Gretchen Kast

While I was home for the holidays, I spent a few days cleaning through my childhood bedroom. It was interesting, sifting through old books and journals and clothes, remembering exactly who I was during my pre-teen years. A favorite find? Long forgotten mix CD’s I had my older sister burn for me (full of songs ripped from Napster, in true “new millennium” form).

Sometimes it’s easy to forget all those formative influences that make up who you are today, but I was pleasantly surprised by the level of girl power that pervaded my music taste. This was before the Internet age of “girls as think pieces”, before I even knew what feminism was. I liked these songs because I enjoyed them, because the singers were sassy and cool and not about to let anyone push them around.

So let’s not wallow in meaning, or debate the “right” and “wrong” ways to be a girl, let’s just embrace the nostalgia and enjoy feeling 12 years old again.

Let Me Blow Ya Mind // Eve ft Gwen Stefani

Stronger // Britney Spears

Hit Em Up Style //  Blu Cantrell

Strong Enough // Sheryl Crow

Say My Name // Destiny’s Child

It’s Not Right //  Whitney Houston

That Don’t Impress Me Much //  Shania Twain

No Scrubs // TLC

Where Have All The Cowboys Gone? //  Paula Cole

Just A Girl // No Doubt

Who Will Save Your Soul // Jewel

What Would You Do // City High

Bitch //  Meredith Brooks

Wannabe // Spice Girls

No More (Baby I’ma Do Right) // 3LW

Get Over Yourself // Eden’s Crush

Lady Marmalade // Christina Aguilera, Lil’ Kim, Mya, Pink

Are You That Somebody // Aaliyah 

Complicated // Avril Lavigne

Fighter //  Christina Aguilera

